French Onion Soup

I love making soup during the winter. Winters in New York can be really cold and there’s nothing more comforting than being indoors with a hot bowl of soup. One of my favorite soups to make is French Onion soup. My fiancé and I simply love French Onion soup and we eat it all the time.

The recipe that I use is Laura Vitale’s recipe found here —

http://www.laurainthekitchen.com/recipes/french-onion-soup/

However, I changed a couple of things around. For one thing, Laura doesn’t use Gruyere cheese but uses cheddar or swiss instead. I think if you’re making French Onion soup you have to use Gruyere cheese. That’s what the French use and that’s what makes the soup extra delicious.

Lets get started! Here is I have the ingredients that I used.

image1

Lots of onions, butter, red wine, beef broth, salt, pepper olive oil, french baguette and missing from the photo are my herbs- bay leaves and thyme.

image2

First cut up the onions into long think slices. I used about 4 big onions.

image3

After you cut up the onions, heat olive oil and 2 tbsp of butter on medium heat in a large pot.

image5

After the butter melts, add the onions to the pot with the sugar, salt and pepper. Let the onions caramelize while stirring frequently. This will take about 25-30 min.

image6

This how the onions should look after they’re done caramelizing. They should be a beautiful deep brown color.

image8

Turn the heat up to medium high heat and then add a cup of red wine and thyme and let the wine reduce for about an hour. After the wine reduces, add the beef broth, salt, pepper and bay leaf. Let it come to a boil then lower the heat to medium and let it cook for 25-30 minutes.

image9

Once the soup finished cooking, I poured some into my French Onion soup bowls (they’re super cute!)

image10

I cut up the baguette into small pieces and added them on top of my soup. The cut up bread will make it easier to eat the soup.

image11

On top of the bread goes the grated Gruyere cheese which is one of my favorite cheeses. Then again I am obsessed with all cheeses. With your boiled pre-heated on high, heat up the soup for about 5 minutes. image12

The cheese will melt and it’ll be golden when done. The results are so delicious!! The ingredients are so simple but the result will amaze you. Its really easy to make and worth it.

You’ll need …

4 Large Yellow Onions

2 Tbsp of Olive Oil

1 Tbsp of Butter

1 Tbsp of Sugar

1 Tbsp of Thyme

1 Bay leaf

1 cup of Red Wine

4 cups of Beef Broth

1 cup of grated Gruyere cheese

French Baguette

Salt and pepper to taste

1. Cut up the onions into long thin slices. Heat up the olive oil and butter on medium heat. Once the butter melts, add the onions with the sugar, salt and pepper. Let the onions caramelize for 25-30 minutes. Stir frequently.

2. Once the onions are caramelized, add the red wine and the thyme and let the wine reduce for about a minute. Turn the heat up to medium high. Add 4 cups of beef broth and the bay leaf and cook for 15-20 minutes.

3. Pre-heat your broiler once the soup is done cooking. Ladle some soup into oven proof bowls. Add the bread and cheese on top of the soup. Heat up the soup in the broiler for about 5 minutes. The soup is done when the cheese melts and is a golden color.

Emjoy!

